Wednesday, 13 December 2017

Review of A HOME FOR URVASI




No of pages    352

Publisher  HarperCollinsPublsihsrs India

Published on October 15 2017

Genre    Fiction Romance Contemporary  Ghost 


Author's links Goodreads  Amazon  Writers melon

My take

Once in a blue moon I get ghost stories .They are scary, revolving   around, the only motive i.e. revenge.

For the authors also it is like walking on the tight rope   holding a pole  and they need to be attentive   to details   to avoid mockery.

This book A  home for Urvasi a rare entertainer by Sanchali Bhattacharya an electrical engineer  , has come as a great relief  in this mundane, but busy  life. It is a great entertainer to be read in a relaxed manner. It extols the love and affection shown by the ghost to her sister which adds a pleasant flavor .

Since the storyline astounds me I have given a fast read and a second time for giving the review. I find it engrossing and entertaining. Such a wonderful novel.

The cover and title are apt to the story.The blurb is a powerful one to catch the readers attention.
The plot

I DIED THE DAY I was born. This tag line refers to the ghost ,Dulari. Between twin girls abandoned by their mother in the   beach the one survived is Ujjwala and she is the protagonist, Dulari in the form of a spirit is so fond of her sister Ujjwala.She  tells  her story in flashback. 

A well -to- do couple with a son   in Mumbai adopted Ujjwala. In an accident the foster parents  expired and her brother took care of her. He sacrificed his life  for her sake . After completing her Engineering degree, she pursued her  MBA.

Then she joined Karma Electronics and she outperformed her peers to be called the Star employee of the company and the same was published in the staff magazine. Afterwards, she  got a new boss Rituraj.

He used to give more work load and asked her to sit late to finish the job.
What Ritutaj has got to do with Ujjwala’s life and why she is afraid of him? 
Why she has come to Kolkata when Mumbai is her native place?
So many questions arise and the book gives answers to all of them. Apart from these answers there were so many incidents which would keep the reader suspenseful and there are surprises awaiting them.

Dulari  finds out that her sister's  official life is so demanding and she faces a tough  situation. She wants to help her to get out of such a situation. How as a ghost does she achieve the same ?

 what has happened to her dream?. 

There are thirty five chapters . Sometimes dialogues carry  the story.  So much descriptions and discussions go into the story making it lively and lovely.

  
The pro

Much of the narrative includes the present and past events and it travels from the  earth to the spirit realm .Crisp narrative doesn't  lose the warmth at any point of time. The story takes us on a roller coaster ride which runs through various dimensions .

Beginning  with a fast pace It is slow paced in the middle, but fast afterwards. It serves as a big insight on urban relationships. Also it talks about the gender discrimination and the struggles of balancing work life  of working women are beautifully  given.

Sanchali Bhattacharya the authoress has  brought complex characters to life  which touch our heart to the core  as  well crafted , and coated  with all the emotions .  The  sceneries  are realistic which have made me swept  away with excitement .With candor and humour,  she has penned the story which explores the intricacies of sisterhood , friendship ,romance and secrets .
  
The favorite
  
There are so many references from  the ancient Indian  epics Ramayana and Mahabharata . The title itself refers to the character in the epic.

Ujjwala and her team  mate visited  Darjeeling , Mirik,  Bhubaneswar and Puri. There are so many things described for the benefit of the travelers. It serves as a mini travelogue within the novel.

I like the way Ujjwala deals with the poor minor girls who are begging and how she helps them to rehabilitate ,  is given nicely She  is a fitting lady for evidence   of woman's empowerment.

I like the way Dulari , the ghost character is well formed to run the story in a smooth and exiting way.
  
My verdict

This book has enthralled me and I like the concept and its execution. It carries lots of messages for the society.

Authoress Sanchali Bhattacharya has woven riveting   tale with the imaginative prose .The fresh writing style is one of the striking aspect .They keep the tempo and lend authenticity to the happenings . She has done a nice job of teasing the readers conveying the dark secrets of MCs. The sub plots connect in the end as a cohesive whole and lends more credibility to the story.

It is a light but hearty read for all. Especially the metro and urban women find it interesting and for them it is very much relatable. Whoever interested in ghost stories with Mythological backdrop would read it with interest.

Grab the Blockbuster copy and pamper yourself with fun and amusement.

My score : 5/5

Disclaimer: I have received the book from Writersmelon in exchange of my honest and unbiased review

Friday, 8 December 2017

Reviw of My Mother A TRIBUTE OF A YEARNING SON

34556825



NO OF PAGES  112 

PUBLISHED BY Createsapce Independent Publishing platform  

PUBLISHED ON  11TH MARCH 2017

Genre: Memoir, Tribute Real life stroy 




My take;

I sincerely thank the author Subhrajyoti  Parida a graduate  (BE) and  renowned poet ,  for having sent me  the book in exchange of my honest and unbiased review.

My Mother A TRIBUTE OF YEARNING SON is a book crafted  by the author, a beloved son as a memorable and everlasting tribute to his Dear Mom with utmost dedication and determination.
                                                  
The plan

The cover holds the picture of the author's MOM and the title gives a clear indication of the tribute as given below

To the pain I endure
To the loss I yearn
To the memories I cherish
To the person I love the MOST
My dearest Mom

With this, the book starts and there are testimonials  of some of the prominent reviewers .  Forward by Chitra Lele  and Swapna Behera  great  authors include the following sentences respectfully.

This family memoir of love and loss is both heartbreaking and valiant.

The cosmic journey of a soul in its own socio cultural background is well described.

Mother - etymology and across languages gives the terminologies for the word Mother.

The book goes to the day his Mom, a diabetic  got admitted in a hospital for a physical disorder. The diagnosis indicated she suffered from Common Bile Duct Cancer in   an advanced stage. In the meantime, his father's elder sister had collapsed and got admitted in the same hospital. Since her condition has worsened and all the support systems were removed and she died.

His  Mom's condition also deteriorated and expired  suddenly. He and his family members were in anguish.They  arranged for the last journey of his MOM  and  discharge of  their duty with elaborate rites and rituals. The later part of the book deals with the various pujas and other   formalities as per Hindu religion   so that the  departed soul reaches  the other world peacefully.

My perception

This emotional sojourn  undertaken by the author' has covered all the ordeals and sad experiences . Unable to  face the reality  ,the support to extend to his family members he maintained his composure. He has  poured out his heart to the rest of the world through this book.  The void created by the demise of his Mom  who loved her family with unconditional love  ,nobody can fill the same.

There is a mention about the Brahma Kumaris a global non profit organisation .His father has associated himself with the same which has bestowed upon him unparalleled spiritual knowledge.  .

 The author Subraghjyoti  Parida has woven a detailed anecdote involving the demise of his  Dear Mom giving maximum details and he has added some of his poems at the end in praise of his Mom and Mother land . 

The Author's literary flair reflects in his poems .To cite a few examples I give below the following stanzas which have touched my heart .

To all the mothers

She weeps secretly sometimes
for she is after all  a Mother - soft and delicate from inside
She too stays strong and tough
for her child has to learn lessons of life

True son & Daughter of the Mother.

for we are born to fight till we breathe our last
for we are born to last as long as we can fight.

Missing Motherland

Mother , dear Mother
how much i craved for you
for i longed for your love
and the sweet aroma your water and air
   
The drawings match with the narrative prose,.

Afterword by S. Nilakanta Siva Retired Nuclear scientist  asks the doctors  to convert the “I, cancer" to “I  can. Sir”

All can read this book and it would make an impact in you. It glorifies the love between a mother and son.

My score   5/5

Disclaimer; I have received the book from the author through Kalamos Literary Services and I have given my honest and unbiased review

The Author



Photo taken from Goodreads 





Sunday, 3 December 2017

REVIEW OF IT HAPPENS

36284419





No of pages   : 166


Publisher :  Notion  prress .com 


Published on : 20 th September 2017


Genre : Fiction Roamnce Contemperory






My take

I thank Writers melon for having sent me the book for my review.


Romance between a youth   and an elderly woman will be usually a part of the story   This novel  takes it a crux and discusses in an elaborate   manner. In the present internet era  where both boys and girls work together, some of them may  fall in love and  they tackle the challenge of making it successful as there would be opposition from different angles. Especially when it clashes with the social norms the emotional struggles of the lovers need not be underestimated. 

The plot

  I have felt  allured  by the eye-catching title as well as exotic cover. The image of one man standing with   two women gives us a hint about the triangle love affair.

The book has got 18 chapters with apt captions. Gautam, aged 25 working in an international bank in  Mumbai is living with his  parents. Rohit is his buddy working in the same bank. Roshini aged 37, who has lost her parents living all alone is also working  along with them  as a Senior Vice President . 

Gautam begins to love her as he finds her attractive, independent and smart. Roshini also loves   Gautam and they decide to marry. Due to the age difference they hesitate and brood a lot before coming to a decision .

The strong blurb puts  the following  questions to us;

Will two smart professionals make a mistake by doing so ?

Or  will they listen to their logical senses art the last moment to avert what may be the biggest blunder of their lives?

We have to read the book to find the answers.

The Pro

  The  romantic tale sets at Mumbai  in the backdrop of corporate realm where the highly qualified professionals try to put all their skill and knowledge  to come up in their professional life. It deals with  fun as well as the ordeals they encounter. The atmosphere of free mingling  of girls and boys, developing friendship  has given the author   all the opportunity  to weave  an unostentatious drama . Despite  the controversial nature of the concept he has taken all the efforts to put  a neat story.

The con

As I start to read the book  the humorous situations make me laugh a lot. Then  the book  goes on a serious note .Some more strong sub plots would have strengthened the main plot.  Also I  feel apart from the Mcs others contribute only a little including   Gautam' parents . 

My favorite.

I find Rohit   mischievous and fun loving . I admire Richa as she fits in her sister role in a nice way.

The following words of wisdom have caught my attention

Marriage is all about companionship.

That is why the heart falls in love, and not the brain.

One good act done today always came back to you by karma   and so did a bad act.

 The story   revolves around youngsters of  the present generation where they  have got exposure to so many new facets  which  the older generation has never come across they could  relate to the happenings as well as characters   easily. Also the events in the corporate world  are given in a fantastic  manner so that  you can visualize them .

I also like the episode involving Gautam and Payal, his teammate when they go to Singapore on a new assignment.

My verdict.

Karan Sharma has done a great job in giving his debut novel. I must compliment him for his seamless narrative depicting the pulse of the   professionals belonging to the present generation   even though he is  a business man.   

The   fresh language , even pace ,precise descriptions and lively dialogues  have hooked me and I have   enjoyed  this emotional roller coaster entertainer.

Readers who are fans of romance novels would definitely find it worth reading as it is   an easy and quick read. I recommend this heart warming book to all especially those  who want to read about an youngster loving an  older lady.  

My score :    4/5

Disclaimer: I have received the book from Writersmelon in exchange of my unbiased and honest reveiw 


AUTHOR 

Karan Sharma


PHOTO TAKEN FROM GOODREADS

Wednesday, 29 November 2017

REVIEW OF RAMONA

36474246

No of pages  : 110

Published by : Notion press.com

Published on : September 18 th 2017

Genre: Fiction ,Adult Contemperroy, 




My review 

Manoj V Jain is one of my favorite authors as I have already read his earlier books  The THC :under a Gibbbous moon  and Balraj  and his writig stlye with fresh language and strong plot has astounded me a lot.


As suggested by the author I begin to read this novella after having read Balraj. This fantabulous book relates to the story of a typical Indian woman Ramona at her middle age,  married to Inder. They have got a grown up son Shourya. Set in the year 2015 on the backdrop of Mumbai .The wonderful story goes from the POV of the protagonist  till the end in flashback. 

Manoj V jain, in this page- turning tale has written a gripping, addictive and tautly suspenseful story of  ordeals , trails and insecurity faced  by the woman  in her life. His narrative is so touching , realistic and entertaining.

He has depicted her emotional turmoil with all the struggles and challenges she comes across for no fault on her part  in a lucid language .How she reconciles herself to the reality and seek redemption makes the beautiful part of the story.  

The plot with all the twists and turns , threads along with the subplots into a savvy , intelligent and sensitive tale. The real life characters are so nicely portrayed we can easily relate to them. The impact created in me will linger for a longer time.

Ramona is a well- crafted fiction with a strong message. If you love fiction you would definitely choose this one .It would entertain you with all the vibes  of fiction .It is worth reading as the engrossing storyline takes you to finish the book in one go. Grab it for an easy and quick read. 

My scrore :4/5

Disclaimer :This book I get as a winner of Goodreads giveway. I give my honest and unbiased review.

Sunday, 26 November 2017

TOP 3 POSITIVE TRIGGERS ESSENTIAL FOR SUCCESS IN SOCIAL LIFE


You are a living magnet , What you attract into life is in harmony with your dominant thoughts


Brian Tracy .

A single plant can not make a garden. Nobody can live all alone in an island building a fortress  We are all social beings and our happiness success and peace depend on our relationship in the society . Our parents take all the efforts to mold us good citizens and we learn from our  teachers friends ,relatives and the general public . Society is so conscious and alert   about our growth .When we work for the sake of the society it pays back at  equal proportion. Our relationship   with others depend on  so many aspects like our education, financial status  and our influence in the society . We have to develop our social skills to make progress in our life. A little effort to change ourselves to the tune of the society we can make our life a pleasant journey. What we sow that only we can reap . In relationship also if we give love  and  get back the same .


DOGS FREE IMAGE க்கான பட முடிவு

Once I was playing with my per dog Rocky and we were spending our quality time in the evening. I was stroking ,caressing his  face and neck of and suddenly he wailed and tried  to bite me. Then I understood I touched  a  sensitive nerve in the neck which  gave a pain to him. . The positive trigger  has become a negative one.Similarly in real life we do some mistakes that turn   the positive trigger into a negative one. To avoid them  the following  principles can be given weightage and develop knowledge on them.

1.      1  Fathom that everyone one is unique and  everything happens for a reason or purpose.

VARIETY SPICE OF LIFE FREE IMAGE க்கான பட முடிவு

VARIETY IS SPICE OF  LIFE. In our life , myriad   instances and happenings occur for which we cannot attribute  any reason or purpose.  We have to take  it for granted that our duty is to meet  all the social transactions In a  reasonable smooth manner. This can be easy to say but a lot of patience and wisdom we have to develop to reach a greater level. In my life I have met   so many persons  I  have to deal  with strangers   for one thing or other. It may be temporary or  paramount or it may be small or big one. In the same way we  have to interact with own friends ,acquaintances  relatives and colleagues. Everybody is unique and we have to recognize the individuality. Giving due respect to individuality we have to maintain a balanced approach to avoid any friction and misunderstanding.

2.      2 Give  many positive strokes and avoid negative ones.

GIVE LOVE IMAGE க்கான பட முடிவு

Psychologists   call our  actions and reaction as positive  and negative stokes according to the effects they create. When I meet my buddy and smile  it is a positive stroke. When I get am email from my relative  I respond . Another example for the same.. Wherever there is no response for the stimuli it  is received with a negative effect. When positive stroke enriches our life negative ones act venomous so spoil our relationship resulting in a stressful one. Life is one time affair and we can not say in this life we experiment and learn and live a good life in our next life. What is in store in our life we don’t know. How life has played fairly or unfairly in other   life we are not aware of such things

3 Keep  the wave length at equal level.

RELATIONSHIP FREE IMAGE க்கான பட முடிவு

In the sea shore we can  observe the waves how they go t o a peak  and come to trough. It shows  only the ups and downs of our life. Whether we want or not we have to maintain an optimum level of wave length with others so that we have a good relationship and social life is peaceful without  chaos and confusion. We have to make it possible by our behavior with genteel approach and coupled with virtues  like truthfulness , frankness, and avoid vices like lies  gossip , backbiting and  eavesdropping etc.

When we develop a positive image about the other person taking into account   his knowledge , experience  there would be the optimum wave length and when we give into the prejudice ,etc. it gives room for creating a wrong wave length resulting in quarrel , argument , attack and counter attacks . There should be a perfect understanding and a certain degree of compassion and leniency towards other person. We should not yield to our instincts and impulses but we have to maintain a good quality of   mindfulness.

If at all our relationship with others are cordial and friendly we can get the maximum out of them. Strained and stressed one may take the toll to make us weak and reduce our energy resulting In creating negative vibes . These three steps can make a mojo to help us lead a happy   , peaceful and successful lie.  

In the virtual world also we bear in mind to spread the language of love and wisdom by our every post and reaction. 

   

Sunday, 19 November 2017

BEST TACTICS FOR MONEY MANAGEMENT -1

     AVOID 7 MISTAKES   TO ENRICH

 FIANCIAL SOUNDNESS


The greatest evils and the worst of crimes is poverty; our first duty, a duty to which every other consideration should be sacrificed, is not to be poor.  - George Bernard Shaw

       God helps those who help themselves Every household has got its own unique   fundamentals as  far as its financial quotient is concerned. Based on basic foundation,   all the family members have to make out their strategy and planning to survive in this world with the optimum level of  self-reliance in the money matter. Whatever your position may be or the status you can make it big if you avoid the following mistakes in a not so haphazard   manner.

1.    1  DO NOT SKIP TO FOLLOW UP A FAMILY BUDGET.


Cheerful family Portrait royalty-free stock photo

Due to the hustle and bustle of the modern life we omit to chalk out a budget according to our resources and dreams.
A home budget would include the daily expenditures and income , assets and liabilities , our goals in  the form of targets. There are many an App for making a budget and we can use it taking into account the following three Rs


Record:. You have to enter all the financial transactions both current and future

Review : Now and then we have to review the position so as to take stack of the situation so that we can make note of the progress and failure on our part and make necessary correction.

Revise: your budget to suit to your aims and take into account your limitations.Discuss your short term and long term goals. Split them into manageable and achievable small jobs .

This budgeet planning and execution should be performed as a fun game and we should not do it as a stressful one.

2.      2 DON’T FORGET SAVINGS.


savings free image க்கான பட முடிவு

We have to save for the unforeseen circumstances and unexpected situations

The standard formula for the same is as follows

INCOME – SAVINGS = EXPENDITURE

Where there is a will there is a way. Put every month a small amount towards savings and over a period of time it would grow up to help at trying times. Work out the monthly income and expenditure to find out the amount you can save in month. Taking the same as the base amount we can fix a target of 10% addition to the  same . Like this you have to increase the addition so that you could save a sumptuous amount over a period of time. 


You can put money in a box containing various small containers and keep the cash according to your regular heads of expenditure. For example you can put a sum of Rs 10000 for grocery in a container and note down the total expenditure for this category . Like this you can use separate boxes for other categories also. Whatever remains should be tallied with your accounts . This helps us to study the pattern of how and where we the money goes.   

3.     3 DON'T IGNORE INFLATION


inflation free image க்கான பட முடிவு

Inflation eats away the value of our asset as such we have to plan our investment in such a way to take care of it.Any erosion in the value would result in loss and taking to a lower level 

The follwing three aspects we have to consider when we go for an investment.

1 What about the reruen after taking into account inflation, income tax and other chargees?
2 Whether sufficient care is taken to cover the risk element?
3 Whehter we go by the herd mentality and invest or  have we done our homework and do it on our own ?
4  DON’T PUT AL THE EGGS IN THE SAME BASKET.
All of Your Financial Eggs in One Basket royalty-free stock photo

The very old wise advice to spread out our investments to various category just because our needs would vary according to the time and change in our position. Various types of investment are available in the market to suit your purse and the risk factor . Investing in a single category would be very risky as this would lead to jeopardy of loss in the   event   there is a fall in the value drastically. Suppose you buy a  plot making a huge  investment if there is no appreciation of value you would have to  settle with lesser profit on this .Hence you have to be more vigilant in making investment.

Diversify your investment and derive the maximum benefit. Buy low and sell high should be our mantra in creating our wealth .

DON’T PLAY WITH HALF KNOWLDEGE.

half knwledge free image க்கான பட முடிவு



Before making a financial transaction, buying, selling or investing we have to study and make research so that our decision would not take us to a great loss. .At least we should not be carried   away by the ads . Things would be exaggerated and we may feel frustrated afterwards .Without thorough knowledge we may make mistakes in our judgment.

6. DON’T FALL PREY TO DEBT TRAP.


free from debt trap image க்கான பட முடிவு

Once a debtor always debtor .So goes the red signal as far as debt is concerned.  Try to live within your means. If at all you want to get a loan you follow the golden rules.
1.       For a purpose only the loan should be availed.
2.       From a recognized institution you should avail the loan.
3.       Work out the possibility of payment of EMI .
When you use a credit card take into account the following precautionary measures .
1.       Go for those articles or consumer items like gadgets if at all you want to have them in the real sense .
2.       Pay the bill as and when it is due date avoiding  penalty.
3.       Don’t go beyond your capacity.

7. DON’T OVERLOOK FINACIAL PRODUCTES LIKE INSURANCE  AND MUTUAL FUND


insurance free image க்கான பட முடிவு
We have to understand that there are many a product which gives us support at the time of our distress. Suppose one of our family falls ill and suffers from chronic disease we can not afford to spend the medical expenditure. So we have to take insurance policies to come to our rescue .Similarly we have to understand the financial  products  and utilize them for our benefit .

Time and tide wait for no one.
Mutual funds investment is a safe one provided you study pros and cons of the fund you have chosen .The brochure on them itself gives a warning about the risk involved  in them. This type of investment gives us an opportunity to earn the passive income and  hence it has to be encouraged.

MAKE THE BSET USE OF INTERNET AND TECHNOLOGY.

There are so many Apps to handle this money matter. In the smart phone itself you can download from Google play store . If you punch the data you could get all the tips and tricks to monitor your financial journey. We can get from the internet  all the golden   guidelines and the  fantastic  suggestions for improving our economical status in the society and be financial literate.  

Only an open and eager  mind and echt willingness to learn  are necessary to achieve our  dreams and  stabilize our financial freedom.

There is no shortcut for wealth creation. Only hardwork,discipline,integrity ,sustained efforts  and  prudenence alone  pave way for long term  richness.


FOCUS WITH 100% ATTENTION 
MAKES YOUR DREAMS A REALITY 



.





.   

Review of A HOME FOR URVASI

No of pages     352 Publisher   HarperCollinsPublsihsrs India Published on October 15 2017 Genre     Fiction Romance Co...